Manna?

As I was cruising down the road with my friend Dolores, an interesting subject came up. We had just come from a Christian church and she was wondering what religion I was. Isn’t that something? She said that she had been to Catholic, Lutheran, and Christian services…..but she did not know what to classify me. How can this be?

Well, this of course is definitely something that I took home with me. As a matter of fact, as I was in the bathroom this morning I was thinking about that question (that I never answered by the way). As I was thinking about the question the term, “manna” appeared in my mind. In Exodus 16:15 is where we first see this term mentioned. This was the bread that the children of Israel feasted on while they were wondering in the wilderness. When the bread first appeared on the ground they did not know what to call it so they called it, “what is it?” or “manna”. Notice how God did not give the bread a title. All he was concerned with was feeding the people. And when it comes to titles I would rather not have one. Though I am a Christian in the truest sense of the term (Saved by grace through Faith in Jesus Christ who died, was buried, and rose again to ascend to sit in Heavenly places so that we could sit with Him) I would rather be known as someone who cares about people enough to restore, reconcile, and renew them to faith in Jesus Christ rather than carry a title that divides rather than unifies. Now I know that titles are needed and that they help to classify individual groups. What I would like others to understand though is…that it is not about the title. Because nowadays, when you mention the word Christian, it is treated like all the other religions. I actually would rather have people ask me, “what are you?” so that I can show them!

You see the manna did not come with a title from God because the title was not important. What was important was the fact that the manna got the job done! It kept the people from starving to death. And we as “Jesus Disciples” are to do the same thing! People everywhere are starving to death, and we have the bread that they need that can renew them from the inside out. That can give them a life that is worth living and this bread is the TRUE BREAD from Heaven JESUS CHRIST!

So as we live our lives for God and one another let us never forget that it is not about titles but it is about what people encounter….that is JESUS! God bless everyone of you!

About CJ

Christian that believes and preaches all of the Word of God. Living the "above life" every single day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

